Login
 

Latest Comments
  • Leon Clark
    I am seeking more information regarding my dad Leo...
    22.09.17 02:48
    By Leone Clark-Wilmont
  • Jake Ford
    I was a coworker of Hanks at Hampton. I am so sorr...
    19.09.17 14:31
    By Lynette
  • Ricardo Brown
    Former principal of Ross middle school; completely...
    14.09.17 06:18
    By Anonymous
  • David Butler
    Sept 8, 2017 I saw Dave this morning in Starbuck's...
    08.09.17 14:11
    By John Scott
  • Tony Grier
    Saw Grier play against UConn. Dude was the truth
    06.09.17 18:19
    By Paul Grayson
  • Tennessee-Chattanooga Mocs
    Add Wayne Golden and William "Too Quick" Gordon, b...
    06.09.17 16:19
    By BillVol
  • Willie White
    Wilie had a textbook jump shot but could not handl...
    06.09.17 16:10
    By BillVol
  • Oral Roberts Golden Eagles
    Also, ORU is located in Tulsa, OK.
    06.09.17 16:07
    By BillVol

 

 

Anatomy of a Man Crush
Articles

By Hannah S. Brown

The title may a bit misleading because, as a woman, I'm not about to break down the interworkings of Man Crush to a bunch of male basketball junkies who, no doubt, are crushin' on some baller as we speak. This is merely a plea for understanding.

 

My 12 year-old son (let's just call him Andrew) has been man crushing like crazy going on 3 years now and, quite frankly, it's weird. It always begins preseason with talk of some player I've never heard of but no doubt get to know very well by the time March Madness rolls around. First it was O.J. Mayo, then it was Brandon Jennings, after that, Ty Lawson, and now its Mike Rosario.

My view of a Man Crush is probably lopsided and womanly bias. From the outside looking in it appears to be an unhealthy obesession that results in a continuous babbling on about a player as if the man crusher is being paid to endorse him for GreekGods R Us. For boys (and maybe grown men, I don't know), it's SLAM and Sports Illustrated picture clippings plastered all over the bedroom walls with the magazines' remains strewn all over the floor amid dirty socks and smelly shorts. It's viewing the player's 40-second high school game clip on YouTube over, and over, and over again. And it's defending the player even when he sucks to the utmost, making the man crusher look as dumb and irrational as the "masterminds" behind the drafting of Danilo Gallinari.

But I have learned one thing, and please correct me if I'm wrong. A Man Crush can be recanted and revoked at any given time. How do I know this? I'm still ticked about the fifty plus dollars I dished out last season to buy my kid the #5 Ty Lawson jersey he bugged the hell out of me for. Then good 'ole Ty proceeds to twist his ankle and go soft on the team for the rest of the season. Man Crush dead. Fifty plus dollars wasted. Boy with #5 UNC jersey now wants #50 UNC jersey.

Just my two cents on what doesn't make sense. I'll leave you men to your crushes.

 

 
Antonio Anderson 2008 Underclassmen
Drafts
  • Name: Antonio Anderson
  • Position: Shooting Guard
  • Height: 6-6 (1.98m)
  • Weight: 200 (91kg)
  • College Team: Memphis Tigers
  • Nationality: American
  • Hometown: Lynn, Massachusetts
  • Birthdate: 6/5/1985
  • Drafted: Declared for the 2008 NBA Draft but withdrew... Automatically eligible for the 2009 NBA Draft but was not drafted by an NBA franchise...

Player Background
By Matthew Maurer
12/17/08

Antonio Anderson first earned his stripes playing basketball against his brother Anthony, a former Division II standout. He credits this time period to the development of his toughness and perseverance. Anderson was a dual sport star in football and basketball by the time he entered Lynn Tech high school, but his immediate success on the hardwood made football a secondary option. He dominated the basketball league as he took the school to the Massachusetts state title his junior year.

Once Anderson recognized the need to further boost his stock and, most importantly, prove himself against better competition, he transferred to Maine Central Institute where his play catapulted him onto the national recruiting scene. But despite this success his work on the prep level wasn't complete as he found himself needing to shore up his academics. The talented guard left Maine Central Institute to take a post grad year at Laurinburg Prep where he teamed up with future Memphis teammates Shawne Williams (Dallas Mavericks) and Robert Dozier. While averaging 12.7 points, 4.1 rebounds, and 3.6 assists per game Anderson helped lead Laurinburg Prep to the national prep-championship with a perfect record of 40-0.

As a top 75 prospect he selected Memphis over Missouri and Michigan State because he felt John Calipari could give him the best chance of making it to the NBA. Anderson has been one of the country's best all-around players with quality passing, scoring and defending. He declared for the 2008 NBA draft but withdrew as he wasn't pleased with the feedback that he was projected as a second round pick.


BIOGRAPHY
If you have additional information you would like to contribute to any player profile (i.e. missing stats, biography), please click here. Please be aware that you must have a verifiable source.

Statistics

SEASONS

GP

FG%

3PT%

FT%

SPG

BPG

RPG

APG

PPG

2005-06 Memphis

37

42.1

36.5

63.3

1.5

0.3

3.4

2.8

7.2

2006-07 Memphis

36

39.0

24.5

63.4

1.6

0.3

4.1

3.6

8.0

2007-08 Memphis

40

40.8

33.3

57.0

1.2

0.3

3.7

3.4

8.6

2008-09 Memphis

37

45.0

25.4

73.3

1.4

0.5

4.8

4.5

10.2

DIV I Totals

150

41.7

30.0

64.1

1.4

0.3

4.0

3.6

8.5

 
The Curious Case of Stephen Curry
Articles

Submitted by Ben Chew, TDR Fan Blog

When most college coaches were scouting Stephen Curry, the major knock on him as a player was his size and inability to score near the basket. After a whirlwind season last year where Curry lead his team to an elite eight appearance in the NCAA Tournament and earned himself an Associated Press Second Team All-American, those concerns seem to be wavering. The season that Stephen Curry has put up so far this year has only proven that his success last year wasn't a fluke.

The real question is how did Stephen Curry not get recruited by any major program?

 
Roundball Rant: Big Baby, EA Sports & International Prospects
Articles
By Matthew Maurer

Thank God some ballers don't take their nicknames literally. "Apollo 33" Jamario Moon isn't risking flight with NASA, Andrei Kirilenko never brandished an AK-47 assault riffle, and Andrew "Boston Strangler" Toney...well, you get the idea. So here we have Glen "Big Baby" Davis getting all watery-eyed on national TV in last week's game against Portland. Davis obviously doesn't know one of basketball's biggest unwritten rules - never cry when your future rests on your persona as an enforcer. Davis proclaimed post-game to have no for regrets for the emotional meltdown, but if you ask me he just flushed his reputation down the toilet. He's always been a fun-loving player, but when you're 6-foot-9 and weigh 289 pounds, crying just isn't an option on the court. Man up, big baby.

Okay, I'm very pissed off at EA sports and have been for a while now. These jerks bought an exclusive deal with the NCAA (just like they did with the NFL) to be the only licensed developer to make games featuring college basketball teams. The outcome is NCAA Basketball 09, which is so bad I honestly have too little time to spell out everything that's wrong with it. My beloved College Basketball 2K series has been shelved, not because the series was bad, but because it was too good. Instead of embracing the spirit of competition and improving their product, those EA chumps took the corporate way and flashed some green to secure themselves as the only provider. WHY? Because they can't beat 2K Sports! EA doesn't understand that people like me have no problem updating the rosters with the new recruits and removing graduates. It's all about 2K9, baby! Screw EA Sports. To all my fellow gamers - don't settle for hamburgers when you can have steak. In the next few weeks I'll post my rosters here on the TDR site as well as in the 2kShare system.

Now I know some will question this, but mark my words. The foreign reign of 13 consecutive years of an overseas player drafted in the first round is in jeopardy. That is unless someone comes out of nowhere, or some team owes an agent a favor or just really feels like reaching. The international flavor is a bitter drink to swallow this year. This is the result of years of NBA teams taking near high school-aged players out of Europe. Now the pickings are super slim. Only Brandon Jennings stands a chance, but he doesn't really count because he's American. And have you checked out his game lately? Jennings isn't exactly killing it overseas right now. Add to the fact that Victor Claver is injured and signs that point to Ricky Rubio staying one more season, and it all adds up to a lukewarm international draft class. I'm sure some publication will put together a fluff piece in the near future about an overseas player that's purported to be shoe-in. And I'm sure some team will be high on that player, as another team, alleged by some oblivious source, will proclaim their plan to draft him in the first if he's available. But please hold the hype. This year's draft class isn't that strong and the prospects are not mind blowing overseas. The Euro dollar may be strong but it'll be American muscle flexing on draft night.

As Jimmy V was celebrated once more this past week for his courageous fight against the cancer that took his life, I also celebrate every other person with cancer who battled just has hard or is presently continuing their battle when no one is looking.

 
Roundball Rant: Thabeet, Curry & Duke
Articles

By Matthew Maurer

All of a sudden Hasheem Thabeet is ranked a top 10 pick by virtually every mock draft service and no one disagrees. But what was up when these mock draft providers proclaimed that Thabeet was virtually garbage after he contemplated coming out for the draft both as a freshmen and sophomore? The short term memory these so called experts amazes me. What changed guys? Either you're a poor judge of real talent or you just missed the boat. I think it's a little bit of both. Now these so-called experts should do themselves a favor - delete your past Thabeet bashing articles before you proclaim to have any further knowledge of his game.

 

A week and a half ago Loyola (MD) coach Jimmy Patsos decided to do something no real coach would. He abandoned attempts to win a game and instead focused on freezing Davidson's NBA bound player, Stephen Curry. It obviously wasn't a plan to simply limit Curry since Patsos kept two players on him the entire game regardless of how open his teammates were. And although Curry didn't score a point as he watched his wide-open teammates destroy the poorly coached team Loyola by 30 points, Patsos still felt the urge to gloat in the post game interview about how he kept Curry under wraps. What a bum. This guy doesn't deserve to coach anywhere in Division I, II, III or NAIA. Let's face it, he knew they wouldn't win so he went for the win within the loss. The University of Loyola needs to can this joker. Patsos may have the prized coaching pedigree but he lacks major leadership, integrity, intelligence, and the courage to compete. Patos was a sore loser before the game even started.

After losing big-time recruit Kenny Boynton, Duke has chosen to try its hand at the nation's top prospect, John Wall. Duke's recruitment of Wall has left some Blue Devils fans scratching their heads, especially with the somewhat negative perception that Wall is not the best of students. Regardless of what Mike Kryzewski proclaims, I can read the real story between the lines. Duke is falling short athletically compared to their rival 8 miles down the road in Chapel Hill. A Duke staff member is quoted as saying they "were pleasantly surprised by his transcripts". Translation? "Man, we thought he was dumb but he's not". In my eyes Duke is slowly starting to shed its recruiting morals to keep up with its intense UNC rival who has reloaded once again with the nation's number one recruiting class.

Lastly, say a prayer of hope and recovery for former Wake Forest star and NBA veteran Rodney Rogers. Rogers was involved in a terrible ATV accident several days ago while riding in the woods. His unfortunate fall from the ATV led to his current state of paralysis from the shoulders down. The 12-year former pro was transferred to Sheppard Center in Atlanta for rehabilitation on his spinal injury.

 
No Sleeping Allowed! 2008-09 Edition
Articles


The No Sleeping Allowed! series began two years ago as a quick snapshot of Division II, III, and NAIA prospects who caught my eye and could potentially garner NBA interest. Four players on last year's 2007-08 No Sleeping list earned spots in the NBDL draft. A host of others were spotted in workouts and NBA summer teams, and most were offered spots on overseas teams.

In this third edition I've done something slightly different by ranking players according to who has the best chance of making an NBA team. As always, special thanks goes out to the numerous coaches and other sources that provided valuable information to bring this list together. Because of the great number of non-Division One schools, I encourage any coach who feels his player is worthy of consideration for the 2008-09 No Sleeping list to contact us.

 
Honorable Draftee: Mu Tiezhu Remembered
Articles
Tiezhu with the ball
The Draft Review extends condolences for one of China’s most beloved basketball heroes, Mu Tiezhu. Many who are reading this may not be familiar with Tiezhu, but he's been a well known around TDR for some time as we've been preparing to include him in our list of honorable draftees. But before his story could be told Mu Tiezhu sadly passed away on Sunday, September 14, 2008 at the age of 59. Before Yao Ming, Wang Zhi-Zhi, or Song Tao, there was Mu Tiezhu, the original 7-foot-8 "Great Wall of China".
 
Dick Vitale? Hall of Lame with a capital "L"
Articles
By Mark Goldman

Anyone who contends that sports, and in particular, basketball, is not political is out of their mind. These blind purists must have been asleep when the Basketball Hall of Fame ceremony took place this past weekend. As I sat in my Lazy Boy man chair I tuned in to witness a host of greats get their due.

Two of the best centers in basketball history, Hakeem Olajuwon and Patrick Ewing. Check. NBA scoring guru Adrian Dantley. Check. Super coaches Pat Riley and Cathy Rush. Check. Innovator and world class Detroit Pistons owner Bill Davidson. Check. Annoying big mouth college basketball announcer Dick Vitale. Huh?

Dick Vitale. What in the hell is going on? Surely this must be wrong. As I halfway calmed myself down, I thought maybe it’s a typo or he’s there to present Bill Davidson (who once hired Vitale as a head coach before quickly firing him). This was my reaction because no Hall of Fame committee with half a brain would choose Dick Vitale over basketball greats Artis Gilmore, Chris Mullin, Bernard King and Don Nelson who are still waiting for their call. The only Hall of Fame Dick Vitale should be hallowed in is Duke's or the American Sportscaster Hall of Fame.

Vitale has been enshrined as a contributor to the game, which is a load of crap when you consider this title is also held by Bill Mokray, Pete Newell, John McLendon and James Naismith to name a few. Not only is Vitale not on par with past Inductees who have been deemed contributors, but his election raises more questions than answers.

For example, how is Howard Cosell not in the football or boxing Hall of Fame? He was every bit revered in his day, but the difference between the two is that Cosell, when he spoke, made sense even if you didn’t like what he had to say. Vitale on the other hand is like my 4 year-old grandson who screams and yells to gain attention. And when Vitale does gain my attention his trademark phrases, ”Awesome babeeey” and “PTPer” are comparable to my grandson’s world famous, “I farted”. But in the end I suppose it’s not really Vitale’s fault - it’s ours. We've allowed shady dealings to take place without action while forgotten players from our segregated and troubled past like Dick Barnett, Travis Grant, Bob Hopkins, and countless others from historically black colleges who will never be honored.

These fading legends don't have the backing of the powerhouse ESPN product, who showboat nationally recognized ex-coaches and players, to pitch for them. They have no friends in high places, like Coach K, to use their pull and influence. In the end those much deserving players will remain hardly noticed before disappearing forever. All while Dick Vitale is immortalized. Yeah, life is hard and mostly unfair, but the politics that gave Vitale a free pass into the Hall of Fame just plain SUCKS.

 
The Passing of Kevin Duckworth
Articles

Family and friends continue to mourn this week's passing of Kevin Duckworth, 44, due to congestive heart failure from an enlarged heart. A memorial service for Duckworth will be held at Memorial Coliseum in Portland on Saturday, August 30th at 11 a.m. Fans are invited to attend.

As an Eastern Illinois alum and 2nd round pick in the 1986 NBA draft, "Duck" enjoyed an 11 year NBA career that included time with the LA Clippers, Milwaukee, San Antonio, and Washington, but is most affectionately esteemed as a member of the Portland Trail Blazers.

The Draft Review remembers Kevin Duckworth. View his draft history profile.

 
Garret Siler: The Secret is Out
Articles


Big Man, Garret Siler
For the second year in a row scouts' eyes will be on the Augusta State men’s basketball program. Head Coach Dip Metress and his staff have done a tremendous job of not only recruiting talent, but managing it, and one has to wonder how long it will be before Metress and company will be coming to a Division I program near you. The school had its inaugural appearance in the Division II championship game last year while star player Tyrekus Bowman garnered attention with his athleticism.

This coming season Augusta State has one of professional basketball’s dying breed in its arsenal. Garret Siler, a true center, is the 6-foot-11, 305 pound big man who has only played organized basketball for 5 years and, until now, has went mostly unnoticed as he quietly builds his game. But now the secret is out.
 
2008 Team USA…not a Dream Team! But as close as we've seen in awhile.
Articles

The 2008 Men’s Basketball Team has received more hype and attention, arguably, than any U.S. Basketball Team since the 1992 “Dream Team”. This is because the 2008 roster has more big-name talent than the previous 2 incarnations; both of whom ended up performing below expectations. The 2000 team won Gold (barely), and the 2004 team memorably limped to the Bronze. The 2008 team is expected to win the Gold, and I believe this is for a good reason. While the 2008 team does not measure up to the 1992 team, which is perfectly understandable, it has much more in common with the 1996 team than it does the 2000 and 2004 teams. The 1996 team is certainly good company! It is virtually forgotten now, as it didn’t receive 10% of the hype of the 1992 team, but the ’96 team was nearly as dominant in its run to Olympic Gold. I plan on proving this by giving a brief synopsis of the previous Olympic teams, since 1992, to make it easier to compare those teams to this year’s squad.

 

 
Honorable Draftee: The Case for Wayne Estes
Articles

Unless you're over the age of fifty or live in Utah chances are you haven't heard of Wayne Estes. In the early to mid-1960s many observers labeled him one of the best shooters in college basketball. Estes mastered the rare ability of versatile perimeter shooting as he was capable of making shots from anywhere on the floor.
Wayne Estes in Action
Even more impressive was his ability to produce in crucial moments during games. Teams that played Utah State would often employ double teams, and it wasn't rare to see three players assigned to constantly rotate defensively against Estes. But despite all the defensive pressure this consistent shooter was only once held to single digit points in his 73 career games.

Heading into his senior year Estes was always mentioned along with future NBA draftees, Rick Barry, Gail Goodrich, Bill Bradley and Billy Cunningham, in various media publications when devising All-American teams. Many who knew Estes off the court said that his small town demeanor and humble personality made him an instant hit with students, faculty, and newspaper syndications in the Southwestern part of the country. Estes led Utah State to two straight NCAA tournament berths, which is an impressive feat for any school at the time as the NCAA did not grant at-large bids. Only conference winners were selected.

Although his last game was played some forty plus years ago, Estes remains Utah State's number two scorer and third best rebounder of all time. For those who remain skeptical of his greatness consider this - Joe Caldwell was the #2 pick of the 1964 NBA draft. Estes played in the 1963 and 1964 NCAA tournaments where he meet Caldwell on both occasions. Although Estes was two years younger he more than held his own against Caldwell, as he averaged 35 points and 8.5 rebounds per game in those match-ups.

Estes' skills made him a big target for the NBA and it seemed highly unlikely that he would last past the first two rounds of the 1965 NBA Draft, but what would happened next could be played out in the script of a Hollywood drama.
 
Underclassmen Blunders of the NBA Draft - Returning to College
Articles

Few, if any, enjoy hearing the tragedy of players who opt for early entry and get the short, undrafted, end of the stick. Then there's countless others who never even attempted to enter the draft while they were hot - players like Jacque Vaughn, John Wallace, Felipe Lopez, Loren Woods and Terence Morris all went several picks lower because they chose to stay in school longer. And while Keith Van Horn and Tim Duncan are shining examples among those who did return to school and still made it big, few have spoken on players that took the popular advice to go back to school then suffered dearly. This is especially true of Jess Settles and Chris Marcus, who in the past 12 years paid the heaviest price for returning to school.
 
Honorable Draftee: The Case for Hank Gathers
Articles

Hank "The Bank" Gathers
Hank Gathers is often regarded as one of college basketball's most heartfelt players, yet saddest stories. Prior to his untimely death Gathers, along with his fast paced Loyola Marymount team, provided the nation with some of the most exciting displays on the court, breaking traditional playing styles in what past coaches would call uncontrolled. It was this freedom to score at a moment's notice that provided Gathers the opportunity to exhibit his dominance on a regular basis. The Bank, as he was called, usually cashed in on the court with the game on the line and, although dominate, his engaging personality made him extremely likeable to anyone who met him.

Most scouts and GMs in the NBA penciled him as a first round pick for the 1990 NBA Draft. Gathers was most impressive because of his ability to run the floor and use his powerful upper body to establish himself on the glass for tremendous rebounds. Despite playing in a less than dominant conference (WCC), Loyola Marymount played a solid out of conference schedule with the likes of Oregon State, Oklahoma, UNLV, LSU and La Salle, all of whom had solid programs at the time. It was here that Gathers showed that he was more than a small conference star. In his junior season he became the second college player in history to lead the nation in scoring and rebounding. Despite standing at 6-7 Gathers' heart and hustle routinely allowed him to outplay most, including young freshman phenom Shaquille O’Neal where he dropped 42 points and 18 rebounds on the then 7-1, 296 pound future NBA superstar. But Gathers' extraordinary displays would soon take a terrible turn.
 
Underclassmen Blunders of the NBA Draft - High School
Articles

In this new series TDR will explore some of the worst draft blunders made by both high school and college players who became early entry candidates in the NBA draft. The players' stories may invoke readers' jeers and mocking as these ex-NBA hopefuls appear to be the butt of a self-inflicted joke, but hopefully this series goes beyond entertainment and serves as a valuable lesson, if not a warning, to future players considering early entry status and how NOT to go about it.

Examining High-School Blunders

Non-Blue chip players like McDavid should have gone to college.
There are perhaps no other players that you will read about that have been as foolish or uninformed as this group. This short list is a good sampling of ill-informed young men chasing a hard dream that even qualified players struggle to attain. Players like Curtis Brown Jr., Clarence Holloway, and Tony Key aren’t included in this group because they at least had Division One offers from mid- to high-level college programs and could be found among the nation's top 500 players. At best they were big name candidates for excellent junior college programs. Both Tony Key and Curtis Brown Jr. went on to play basketball at Los Angeles C.C. and Garden City C.C. respectfully. Holloway, meanwhile, was set for Louisville until a heart defect ended what was to be his first season of basketball at the University. At the very least these 3 players were known by recruiting services. But in contrast, Taj McDavid, Ellis Richards, and Derek Bailey are poster children for high school blunders.

 
Lester Hudson… Boom or Bust?
Articles
Written by Matt Bertrand

There have been few players generating more buzz around TDR the past few months than Lester Hudson.
I would have to assume that this is due to his fascinating story; as well as the extraordinary numbers that he put up this season, his first playing Division I college basketball. The assuredness of most readers that Hudson will make an outstanding pro kindled my interest. In TDR's April 17th interview with Hudson, he also showed little reservation that he will succeed mightily in the NBA. This lead me to wonder exactly how successful high-scoring, mid-major college guards have been in the NBA historically.

To accomplish this I compiled a list of players who met the following criteria:

• 6’0” to 6’5”
• 22.0 PPG or more in a full season of college ball, preferably their final season
• Attended a mid-major college
• Most other major statistics shared at least some common ground with Hudson’s numbers.

I searched through players drafted since 1980, as well as undrafted players since approximately 1995, and compiled the following list:

 
Fans Behind Bars: Revisiting Eric Torpy's Celtics Obsession
Articles

Photo courtesy of Eric Torpy
Picture day at Oklahoma City Prison

Remember the old story from 2005? Eric Torpy's long rap sheet of criminal behavior dating back to his juvenile years ends with the grand finale - he's busted for armed robbery and shooting with intent to kill. As part of his plea agreement Torpy insists that his prison sentence be increased from 30 to 33 years - all in the name of Larry Bird's #33 jersey and Boston Celtics pride.

 

 

According to the judge, Torpy "was just as happy as he could be" to get an extra 3 years, so I caught up with him at Oklahoma City Prison to see if he still feels the same way.

Torpy was mum on the issues of his criminal past, only volunteering a short remark of, "I've been in trouble most of my life". Instead, he proudly boasted of his accomplishments as a high school and vo-tech graduate, and his attainment of an associates degree.

While he spoke on other personal issues, Torpy was insistent that TDR share only his comments regarding his Celtics' pride, basketball behind bars, and why Larry Bird may be the loophole to a brighter future.

Torpy had this to say:

 
If It Ain’t Broke; Don’t Fix It: The NCAA Tournament
Articles

“March Madness” serves as the recognizable 2-word description for what is hands-down the premier sporting event in the month of March, the Men’s NCAA Basketball Tournament. The entire tournament, from the 1st Round games, to the Final Four, creates a tremendous amount of interest for both casual and die-hard basketball fans. This is all for one very good reason – the tournament is EXCEEDINGLY entertaining. The 1st 2 days of the tournament may just be my favorite day to be a sports fan, as I can watch significant portions of anywhere between 4-16 highly competitive games in a glorious 12-13 hour span. The bone I have to pick is this – I cannot remember the last time I’ve heard so many suggestions to fix (huh?) the best event in sports!

I’m not talking about the Pro Bowl, NBA All-Star Weekend, or the NHL…this is March Madness, the darling of office pool organizers and underdog lovers throughout our great country. Nobody NEEDS to fix it. The primary argument that I’ve heard a number of different incarnations of is that the NCAA Tournament is “flawed”, primarily due to the fact that the “best” 65 teams are not represented, and there is no objective way to choose these 65 teams. I would now like to eviscerate a couple of the primary suggestions I have heard to “fix” what is, arguably, the greatest event in sports.

 
More Articles...
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > End >>

Page 6 of 7